Western League Parks, 1899

There were eight ballparks in Ban Johnson’s Western League of 1899. Of their corresponding eight cities, six continued into 1900 as Chicago and Cleveland replaced St. Paul and Columbus. By 1901, the circuit’s first year as a rival major league, Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore , and Washington came in, and the American League could no longer be thought of a minor circuit in the West. Detroit remains to this day as the only uninterrupted survivor of the Western League since its founding in 1894.

Web Hosting Companies